## NCPHA – Academic Participatory Based Research (APBR) Section Business Meeting September 28, 2017

The business meeting was called to order by Nancy Winterbauer. Other Leadership Team members present were Stacie Saunders, Co-chair and Cheryl Kovar, Secretary-Treasurer.

- Nancy gave an overview of the section origin and why we are looking at revising the by-laws due to current practice in the section and loss of federal RWJ funding. By-laws will be reviewed and revised and brought to next year's business meeting in 2018 for a vote.
- The next topic discussed was the need to reorganize the section regarding what we do and to think of other ways to bring others together. Discussion occurred with overview of yesterday's sharing session. Below are the suggestions brought forward from the open discussion:
- 1) Get students more involved through internships as now more project based vs. research based. Model will need to change to faculty-student-practitioner model focused on research. Will put a small committee together to draft what this model might look like.
- 2) Academic health dept. Section developing a forum or meeting to highlight this model. Will also put together a small committee to consider.
- 3) NACCHO has their model practices (best practices) and give rewards yearly and vetted. Not sure of eligibility. Can we develop a state level of repository of best practices for LHDs to utilize and share?
- Secretary-Treasurer Cheryl Kovar was nominated by Nancy and seconded by Stacie and vote from membership with all "yes". Cheryl will serve for 2-year term per the by-laws.
- Nancy invited the members to attend the monthly section calls if they would like. The calls take
  place on the second Tuesday of the month at 9:00A. Please email any of the leadership team for
  the call-in number.
- Nancy discussed the need to have a sub-committee for conference planning. The section also needs to have people to help with review and selection of abstracts for presentations as well as another committee to help with community involvement. Members encouraged to email Nancy or Stacie to volunteer.

• The winners of the poster session, oral presentations, and speed round were announced on Friday 9/29 at the breakfast. This year's winners were: Jen Isherwood, practitioner category for the oral presentation, Jonathan Nowlin, student category for the oral presentation, Ann Meletzke, practitioner category for the speed round, Anna Stormzand, practitioner category for the poster session and Trent Gray, Jr, student category for the poster session. The winners will receive a monetary award from the section that will be mailed to them. We thanked all who participated in this year's sessions as they were excellent and well done.

Meeting adjourned at 10A.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Cheryl Kovar